ARC All-Weather £1,000,000 Bonus Scheme 2024 Winners Summary


30 March 2024

Artisan Dancer comes out on top as Horse of The Year as part of ARC All-Weather £1,000,000 Bonus Scheme

In its second year, the ARC £1,000,000 All-Weather Bonus scheme has run from 17 October 2023, throughout the winter, and culminated on Good Friday, 29 March 2024.

The bonus has consisted of both a Horse of The Month and Horse of The Year competition, along with a bonus for the top Jockey and Apprentice Jockey at ARC’s four All-Weather Racecourses. 

Points for the Horse of the Month and Horse of the Year competitions have been awarded to horses that have finished in the first five on any of their first three runs in any monthly period at Lingfield Park, Newcastle, Southwell or Wolverhampton Racecourses.

The Horse of the Month competition offered a total of £35,000 a month in prizes in October/November, December and January. The prize pot doubled in February and March to £70,000. There was also a prize pot of £10,000 per month paid to the staff connected to the stables of the horses in the top three places.

The Horse of the Year competition offered a £100,000 first prize, and was won by Artisan Dancer, trained by Charlie Johnston. The competition came to a head at Southwell on Thursday 28 March, where a third place for Artisan Dancer put him two points ahead of Tony Carroll’s Mamayuz, who shot into second place with an excellent win.

Over £650,000 will be paid down to 20th place, with the horse in that position earning a £10,000 bonus.

It has been an extremely competitive All-Weather season which is reflected in the Horse of The Year standings with just one point separating third placed The Craftymaster (47pts) from joint third-placed horses Enola Grey (46pts) and Intervention (46pts).

The rejuvenation of The Craftymaster has been one of the stories of this All-Weather season. The 4yo came close to retirement but has enjoyed a remarkable change in fortune since moving to the Tony Carroll yard back in October rising 24lbs in the handicap.

A summary of all of the winners across the ARC All-Weather £1,000,000 Bonus is below. The final standings in both the Horse of the Month and Horse of the Year competitions were decided on countback down to number of 5th placed finishes, wherever two or more horses were tied on points. 

ARC All-Weather £1,000,000 Bonus Scheme Horse of The Month winners:

March (£70,000 total)

PositionHorseTrainerOwnerTotal Horse Prize
1st=DANIELSFLYERDavid ThompsonElliott Brothers and Peacock£17,500
1st=CEPHALUSGary MooreMr Veljko Jovanovic£17,500
1st=LOUGH LEANEDavid SimcockTwenty Stars Partnership£17,500
1st=MAMALOUKAAmy MurphyD MacAuliffe£17,500

February (£70,000 total)

PositionHorseTrainerOwnerTotal Horse Prize
1st=PALLAS LORDDonald WhillansMr D. W. Whillans£30,000
1st=SENNOCKIANCharlie JohnstonThe Burke Family£30,000
2nd=BELLA BLUESKYEwan WhillansHarrow Whillans£2,500
2nd=GUSTAV GRAVESDerek ShawBig Lachie Syndicate£2,500
2nd=MASQOOLJames EvansPeter Clarke Racing Partners£2,500
2nd=NEPTUNE LEGENDTony CarrollMr N Sfrantzis£2,500

January (£70,000 total)

PositionHorseTrainerOwnerTotal Horse Prize
1st=BOBBY JOE LEGRuth CarrMrs Angela Clark£14,000 
1st=BEAUZONIan WilliamsBeaunus Hunters£14,000 
1st=BONITO CAVALOJim GoldieWhitestonecliffe Racing Partnership£14,000 
1st=OPTIKDavid SimcockJohn Cook & Partner£14,000 
1st=HE’S AN ANGELPeter NivenMr G. Lavery£14,000 

December (£35,000 total)

PositionHorseTrainerOwnerTotal Horse Prize
1stINTERVENTIONMichael ApplebyThe Horse Watchers 8£20,000 
2ndENOLA GREYGemma TuttyCragg Wood Racing£10,000 
3rd=THAPA VCMark RimellThe Circle Of Five£2,500 
3rd=STORYMAKERGeorge BougheyHot To Trot Racing 2 and Partner£2,500 

October & November (£35,000 total)

PositionHorseTrainerOwnerTotal Horse Prize
1st=EAGLE’S REALMDavid Killahena & Graeme McPhersonThe Good Racing Company Ltd£15,000
1st=BANKRUPTChelsea BanhamMulligans Racing Club£15,000
2nd =STAR OF ST LOUISMatt CrawleyMr Wayne Lukas£2,000
2nd =SYDNEY BAYGeoffrey HarkerJ Kay£2,000
2nd =THE CALTONIANLinda PerrattMr M. Sawers£2,000
2nd =GIRL FROM ITALYMark WalfordMr Keith Brown£2,000
2nd =INTOXICATAEd DunlopMr Paul Turner£2,000

ARC All-Weather £1,000,000 Bonus Scheme Horse of The Year Competition:

Full standings for the Horse of The Year are listed below with prize money paid out from 1st position down to 20th.

PosPrizeHorseTrainerTotal PointsWins2nds3rd4th5th 
1£100,000Artisan DancerCharlie Johnston5327411 
2£75,000MumayazTony Carroll5128130 
3£50,000The CraftymasterTony Carroll4773000 
4£45,000Enola GreyGemma Tutty4645111 
5£42,500InterventionMicheal Appleby4644220 
6£40,000Pallas LordDonald Whillans4554020 
7£37,500LikeashadowAlan Brown4524431 
8£35,000The CaltonianLinda Perratt4454100 
9£32,500Gustav GravesDerek Shaw4453201 
10£30,000IntoxicataEd Dunlop4443400 
11£27,500Darlo PrideAnthony Carson4226210 
12£25,000CusackDavid Thompson3833302 
13£22,500Big NarstieMichael Appleby3633300 
14£20,000Bonito CavaloJim Goldie3560110 
15£18,500Bobby ShaftoeJim Goldie3542031 
16£16,500Sibyl CharmIain Jardine3534020 
17£14,500Pepsi CatSteph Hollinshead3442200 
18£12,000Red WallsLisa Williamson3432310 
19£11,000BradmanCharlie Fellowes3423141 
20£10,000GoldsmithAlice Haynes3332131 

ARC All-Weather Bonus – Top Jockeys

As part of the ARC £1,000,000 All-Weather Bonus scheme, the top Jockey and Apprentice Jockey, by wins, at each of the four ARC Racecourses will receive a bonus of £7,000 and £3,000 respectively.

Where jockeys are tied on wins, the winner is determined on countback of second, third, fourth, then fifth places if necessary

 JockeyWins Apprentice JockeyWins
Lingfield ParkRossa Ryan16 Joe Leavy5
NewcastleJason Hart23 Jonny Peate14
SouthwellJason Hart9 Billy Loughnane4
WolverhamptonRossa Ryan38 Billy Loughnane27

Separate from the ARC All-Weather £1,000,000 Bonus Scheme, the All-Weather Championships also concluded on Good Friday, with the following securing the top Trainer, Owner, Jockey and Apprentice titles.

All-Weather Trainers Championship:

After yet another magnificent campaign on the All-Weather which has resulted in a total of 43 winners, Mick Appleby landed an eighth All-Weather Trainers Championship title and receives £10,000.

Appleby has become renowned for rejuvenating horses from other yards and this season has been no different with the likes of Penzance who has improved 25lbs since joining Appleby from the Simon & Ed Crisford yard.

All-Weather Jockeys’ Championship:

An All-Weather Jockeys’ Championships and All-Weather Apprentice Jockeys’ Championship have comprised part of the £1,000,000 All-Weather bonus as well.

Rossa Ryan was crowned Champion All-Weather Jockey at Newcastle on Friday and will receive the Great British Racing sponsored £10,000 prize for the 85 winners he has steered to victory during the Winter, with Billy Loughnane collecting the £5,000 runners up prize.

Billy Loughnane was awarded £4,000 after being confirmed the winningmost apprentice jockey throughout the All-Weather season for a second consecutive season. He finished a remarkable 39 winners clear of Aidan Keeley who receives £1,000 for finishing in second place.

All-Weather Owners’ Championship:

For a remarkable 10th season in a row, Godolphin have been crowned All-Weather Champion Owners, a title that they have held concurrently since Season 2 of the All-Weather Championships.

Arena Racing Company

Racecourse logo

We hope to welcome you back soon. Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and events direct to your inbox.