Sun Bets Welcomed As New Sponsors Of The AWC

All Weather Championship

21 October 2016

• Sun Bets to sponsor to Mile Category 

• Be Wiser Insurance join as ‘Official Partner’ 

On the same day as Sun Bets undertakes its first sponsorship in British Racing at Doncaster Racecourse, Arena Racing Company (“ARC”) is delighted to announce the betting operator as the new sponsor of the Mile Category for 2016-17 All-Weather Championships. 

Sun Bets joins fellow Authorised Betting Partners of British Racing, 32Red and Betway, as Category Sponsors. 

Sun Bets’ Head of PR Tim Reynolds, said: “As a new online betting operator we are delighted to be working with ARC and investing in sponsorship within British Racing through the All-Weather Championships. They have proved a great success in recent years and we look forward to being part of another exciting season of racing and the £1 million Finals Day on Good Friday at Lingfield Park.” 

ARC Group Director of Partnerships, David Leyden Dunbar, said: “We are really excited to welcome Sun Bets as Category Sponsors of the All-Weather Championships. Innovation is at the heart of what ARC does and the All-Weather Championships were devised in order to raise the quality and prestige of all-weather racing which is being achieved. Sun Bets have a new and exciting brand and we think it is an excellent fit with the All-Weather Championships which are a clear example of what can be achieved in British Racing when we embrace new ideas and fresh thinking.” 

In addition to this, Be Wiser Insurance has become the ‘Official Partner’ of the All-Weather Championships and will have on course branding across ARC’s four all-weather racecourses. The opportunity to be part of the All-Weather Championship will enable Be Wiser Insurance to reach new audiences against the backdrop of an exciting sporting championship. 

Be Wiser Insurance Marketing Director, Andrew Dunkerley, said: “We’re thrilled to be the official insurance partners of the All-Weather Championships which has become hugely popular over the winter months. The audiences at the racecourses and the television coverage provide the perfect opportunity to increase awareness of the Be Wiser brand and the breadth of products we offer.” 

The 2016-17 All-Weather Championships will run from Thursday 27 October 2016 through to the £1 million Finals Day at Lingfield Park on Good Friday, 14 April 2017. Finals Day will be broadcast live on At The Races and ITV4. 

All races at the six all-weather racecourses in Great Britain between these dates will count as qualifying runs, with Newcastle Racecourse’s new tapeta track involved for the first time. The qualifying criteria for horses will remain the same as for the 2015-16 All-Weather Championships season. Full details of the 2016-17 All-Weather Championships will be published next week. 

The six championship categories are: 

• 3-Year-Old over 6 Furlongs (sponsored by 32Red) 

• Fillies & Mares over 7 Furlongs (sponsored by 32Red) 

• Mile over 8 Furlongs (sponsored by Sun Bets) 

• Sprint over 6 Furlongs (sponsored by Betway) 

• Marathon over 15 Furlongs (sponsored by Betway) 

• Middle Distance over 10 Furlongs (sponsored Betway) 

Each category will have a £150,000 Final on Good Friday with the exception of the Betway Easter Classic Middle Distance which will be run for £200,000. On Finals Day the seventh race will be a £50,000 handicap for apprentice jockeys.

Arena Racing Company

Racecourse logo

We hope to welcome you back soon. Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and events direct to your inbox.