Pioneering Sportswomen

Promoting female jockeys in a male dominated industry.

The Silk Series

Following a suggestion by an employee, The Silk Series was created in 2017.  Aiming to address the lack of female jockeys in racing, The Silk Series is a race series specifically for female jockeys which grows in strength and ambition every year.

The Silk Series

After a successful launch year, this innovative race series has become a staple of the racing calendar and boasts an impressive prize pot of £150,000. The Silk Series has feature races on Ladies Day events around the country, with the champion being crowned and presented with the Tufnell Trophy on Ladies’ Day at the St Leger Festival at Doncaster in front of a crowd of thousands.

Previous Winners

Megan Nicholls has dominated the Silk Series with a hat-trick of titles in 2017, 2018 and 2019.


The Silk Series has been recognised with nominations for a number of national awards.  It was the winner at the Racecourse Association’s Showcase Awards in 2017, in the ‘Love of The Sport’ category. In addition, The Silk Series was nominated for a prestigious BT Sports Industry Award along with the Women’s Sport Trust’s #BeAGameChanger awards.

Latest Leaderboards

Visit The Silk Series website for the latest leaderboards and news.

Find Out More

We hope to welcome you back soon. Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and events direct to your inbox.